7th Army Symphony

Dedicated to the players of the orchestra       (last update - March 26, 2017)
There are 422 names in our data base.  If your name is not listed yet, click here.

Existing in Germany from 1952 to 1962, this orchestra is still remembered.   Clarinetist Jerry Mattson expresses it aptly: "I don't normally live in the past, but I have yet to come across anyone with a comparable experience to hark back to.  Those were strange and wonderful years."

In David Furholmen's video from the 2006 reunion, Sam Adler, founder and first conductor of the orchestra, tells the remarkable story of how it all began -- and how the orchestra "brought a message of peace and of friendship through the language of music to a large part of the world". For a 39-minute documentary film giving a fuller account of Sam's life and the beginnings of the orchestra, use this link and enter the password "adler2011".

Firenze Firenze


where the Seventh Army Chamber Ensemble played on March 31, 1955

March 26, 2017
FYI: This copy of the site is coming to you from its new home in a much faster hosting server. The permanent site address, 7aso.org, will not be connected to the site on the new server for a week or two, and may not work at all for a day or two during the switchover. In the meantime, you should be able to use the temporary address cpearnest.org to reach this copy of the site.

Lost Sheep List
(Updated 6/28/14)
remove Marvin Cox
In Memoriam
(Updated 12/25/16)
Carl Robert Schiebler
Books About the Orchestra or Orchestra Members:
Uncle Sam's Orchestra: Memories of the Seventh Army Symphony, by John Canarina (bass and conductor in 1959-60), 1998.  50 b/w illus., musical examples, 224 pages, 6 x 9, $65. Available via Print on Demand from Boydell & Brewer, 668 Mount Hope Avenue Rochester, NY 14620-2731, 585-275-0419. Former 7ASO members should be able to get a 25 per cent discount.
Kenneth Schermerhorn: He Will Always Be the Music, by Martha Rivers Ingram with D. B. Kellogg, 2006. 65 photos, 391 pages; $24.99. (Ken played trumpet and conducted in 1953-55). Available online from Amazon and other sellers.
Also of interest are several books that include stories about the orchestra, by David Amram, Michael Colgrass, and John Sant'Ambrogio.

© 1997-2017 Ronald V. Rhodes & Christopher Earnest
E-Mail: Chris Earnest
Links to
External Sites